Team collaboration

Data sharing and user rights

With luckycloud you can share data quickly, easily and securely with colleagues, business partners, family and friends. There are three ways to do this:

Release via download and upload links

The share links are very good for sharing data with external people - people who don't have a luckycloud account. With a download link, for example, you can quickly share your documents with your tax advisor. The Upload link, on the other hand, is good for uploading data. For example, if your wedding guests want to share their photos with you.
You can create external links from entire libraries, folders or individual files.

  • Please log in first at https://storage.luckycloud.de with your access data.
  • Move your mouse over the respective library, folder or file and click on the unlock icon.

    Note: The creation of download or upload links is only possible for libraries that are not encrypted end-to-end.

  • Click on "Download link " if you want to make your data available for someone to download. The link can optionally be password protected or provided with an expiration date. The option "Show online only " allows the link recipient to view the data only in the web browser - but not to download it.
  • With "Create " a link is generated, you can now copy it and send it via your own e-mail program. Alternatively the link can also be sent directly via luckycloud, click on "Send" and enter the email address to which the link should be sent, with an optional message. With "Save " the download link will be sent to the corresponding person.

If you want an external person to upload something to your library or folder, create an upload link and do the same.

Video tutorial: Create download link

User share permissions

User approvals are useful if you are planning a long-term collaboration with one person - they are ideal for your employees or project partners. They get their own luckycloud account, access to your shared data and can work together with you on the same files and projects. Read and write permissions can be set individually for each shared library, folder and file.

  1. To set up user shares, you must first create users in the Team Manager (see Create users ).
  2. You can set up user shares in the Web Interface. (It is also possible via the sync client.)
  3. libraries, folders or single documents can be shared with users via the sharing symboll.

    Note: Please note that subfolders or individual files can only be shared with unencrypted libraries. Click on "User Shares " and enter the full e-mail address of the user you created previously. Select whether the user can only read the data or also edit it ("Read and Write").

  4. save the input.

Video tutorial: Setting up user shares

Group shares

Sharing a previously created group works the same as sharing users. Simply click on "Share for Group " and enter the group name in the field provided.

How do I create a group?

You can create groups in the web interface under "for my groups" > All groups > Create new groups by selecting a group name and adding the respective users as group members.

Video tutorial: Creating a group and adding users

Video tutorial: Share data with group

Working on a file with several people at the same time

Once you've shared a library with your colleagues and synchronized it on your computer, all users can add, change, or delete files in the library. Each change is automatically synchronized on the other user's computer. In the Online Office Editor, you can work with multiple people on a document at the same time.

  1. log in to the web browser under https://storage.luckycloud.de.
  2. Navigate to the corresponding file and open it by clicking on the Office file.

Other people can then do the same. This way you can follow the others' changes live.

If you are finished with your changes, close the document.

Note: The changes are not saved until the last leaves the document.

Video tutorial: Working in the Online Office Editor

Conflict files

Sometimes other users and you may edit the same file locally at the same time - your changes may conflict with others' changes. In this case, your changes will be saved, while other users' changes will be saved as conflict files. These files end with the author's email address and the current time - e.g. test.txt (2013-10-01-00-12-24). Thus no changes are lost and you have the possibility to view and adjust the changes manually.

Lock file

If you want to avoid such a conflict right from the start, you can also lock the file. Other users cannot edit the file until you release it again. This is already done automatically in the background for new versions. You can do this manually:

  1. If you're working in Explorer (or Finder for Mac), right-click the file and you'll see Seafile>Lock File.
  2. After activating this option, you will see the status symbol that only you can edit the file.
  3. as soon as you want to share the file with other users, you have to select the option Seafile>Unlock file.

Note: If you do not release the file after 6 hours, it will be released automatically.

Continue to step 6: Payment